San Juan Hills Women's Golf Association

Club History

Past Presidents

Margaret Debach	1989 Dorothy LaFever	08-09	Linda Healion
Jeanie Chabot		09-10	Linda Healion
Melitas Forster			
Binky Valentine	1993 Betsy Bosworth		•
Liz Shattuck	1994 Binky Valentine	12-13	Mary Bebek
Liz Shattuck	1995 Joyce May	13-14	Mary Bebek
Chris Behm	1996 Dorothy LaFever	2015	Reni Vidovich
Fern Holmes	1997 Dorothy La Fever	2016	Reni Vidovich
Dorothy La Fever	1998 Jean Thorn	2017	Debbie Geyer
Helen Jerram	1999 Jean Thorn	2018	Debbie Geyer
Jane Miller	2000 Dianne Burdick	2019	Terry Burd
		2020	Terry Burd
Norma Voyles	2001 Dianne Burdick	2021	Barb Kowalczyk
Norma voyies	2001 Diamic Baraick	2022	Barb Kowalczyk
		2023	Cheryl Graber
Norma Voyles(Moore)	2001 Tomi Gettel		
Katie Milsted	2003 Tomi Gettel		
Peggy Baker	2004 Judy Soulakis		
Margy Anderson	2005 Judy Soulakis		
Bonnie Roos	05-06 Judy Soulakis		
Doris Davis	06-07 Bobbi Taylor		
Dorothy Lafever	07-08 Bobbi Taylor		
	Jeanie Chabot Melitas Forster Binky Valentine Liz Shattuck Liz Shattuck Chris Behm Fern Holmes Dorothy La Fever Helen Jerram Jane Miller Norma Voyles Moore) Katie Milsted Peggy Baker Margy Anderson Bonnie Roos Doris Davis	Jeanie Chabot 1991 Robert Alexander Melitas Forster 1992 Betsy Bosworth Binky Valentine 1993 Betsy Bosworth Liz Shattuck 1994 Binky Valentine Liz Shattuck 1995 Joyce May Chris Behm 1996 Dorothy LaFever Fern Holmes 1997 Dorothy La Fever Dorothy La Fever 1998 Jean Thorn Helen Jerram 1999 Jean Thorn Jane Miller 2000 Dianne Burdick Norma Voyles Norma Voyles 2001 Dianne Burdick Norma Voyles(Moore) 2001 Tomi Gettel Katie Milsted 2003 Tomi Gettel Peggy Baker 2004 Judy Soulakis Margy Anderson 2005 Judy Soulakis Bonnie Roos 05-06 Judy Soulakis Doris Davis 06-07 Bobbi Taylor	1990 Robert Alexandeer 1991 Robert Alexander 1991 Robert Alexander 1991 Melitas Forster 1992 Betsy Bosworth 10-11 Binky Valentine 1993 Betsy Bosworth 11-12 Liz Shattuck 1994 Binky Valentine 12-13 Liz Shattuck 1995 Joyce May 13-14 Chris Behm 1996 Dorothy La Fever 2015 Fern Holmes 1997 Dorothy La Fever 2016 Dorothy La Fever 1998 Jean Thorn 2017 Helen Jerram 1999 Jean Thorn 2018 Jane Miller 2000 Dianne Burdick 2019 2020 Norma Voyles 2001 Dianne Burdick 2021 2022 2023 Norma Voyles 2001 Tomi Gettel Katie Milsted 2003 Tomi Gettel Peggy Baker 2004 Judy Soulakis Margy Anderson 2005 Judy Soulakis Bonnie Roos 05-06 Judy Soulakis Doris Davis 06-07 Bobbi Taylor

Club Champions

1970	Fern Holmes	1998 Linda Healion
1971	Jeanie Chabot	1999 Linda Healion
1972	Pat Hill	2000 Linda Healion
1973	Sue Hill	2001 Linda Healion
1974	Jan Fohl	2002 CharbeBenvenuto
1975	Dorothy DeVries	2003 Linda Healion
1976	Dorothy DeVries	2004 Linda Healion
1977	Dorothy DeVries	2005 Linda Healion
1978	Dorothy LaFever	2006 Teresa Gonzales
1979	Fern Holmes	2007 Jan Baker
1980	Dorothy LaFever	2008 Jan Baker
1981	Delma Brodeck	2009 Linda Healion
1982	Audrey Etchison	2010 Corkie Birdsall
1983	Dorothy DeVries	2011 Linda Healion
1984	Audrey Etchison	
1985	Ginny Waugh	2012 Linda Healion
1986	Dorothy LeFever	2013 Lori Van Hove
1987	Dorothy LeFever	2014 Lori Van Hove
1988	Dorothy LeFever	2015 Lori Van Hove
1989	Dorothy LeFever	2016 Teresa Gonzalez
1990	Dorothy LeFever	2017 Lori Van Hove
1991	Dianne Burdick	2018 Lori Van Hove
1992	Charbe Benvenuto	2019 Lori Van Hove
1993	Linda Healion	2020 Lina Huh
1994	Linda Healion	2021 No Tournament
1995	Linda Healion	2022 Lori Van Hove
1996	Linda Healion	2023 Lori Van Hove
1997	Linda Healion	

President's Cup Champions

2002 Lisa Ulnick 2007 4 FLTS

2003 4 FLTS Hoyt/Berney
Healion/LaFever Nelson/Baldwin

2004 4 FLTS 2008 3 FLTS

Healion/Shalhub Dean/Shalhub Lower/Yeo Mack-Hennekam

2005 5 FLTS 2015 Karen Yoshihara

Burdick/S. Ross 2016 Sonia Shalhub Nelson/Ruggles 2017 Sonia Shalhub Heuneman 2018 Tracy Steele

2019 Cindy Schumacher 2020. No Tournament

2023

2021. No Tourmanent2022 Tracy Kilpatrick

Nancy Webster

2006 5 FLTS

Healion/Dean

LaFever/Nelson

Baldwin

2007 4 FLTS

SJHWGA A History

In the late 1960's a group of women started thinking about organizing a women's golf league at the newly built San Juan Hills Golf Course. Supported by the course management, the wife of the Director of Golf, Chris Harrington, contacted several women golfers to put the plan into action. Among those initial members was Dottie LaFever, who eventually served 5 terms as SJHWGA President. According to an amusing anecdote from Dottie, Thursday was selected as Ladies Play Day as she was then preoccupied with bowling on the proposed Tuesday. Marge Debach took the helm as the first President in 1969. The club started with approximately 40 women, developed by-laws and procedures and soon became a popular club. At one time the club had a waiting list, requiring potential members to have a sponsor and meet qualifying standards. Some potential members waited as long as two years for an opening to become available. Those procedures eventually changed

when a complaint was lodged with the club management by a resident who purchased a home in the neighboring development with the intention of being a ladies club member.

SJHWGA affiliated with WAGA (Western American Golf Association) and many SJHWGA members participated actively as Board Members of that association. Eventually WAGA became part of WSCGA (Women's Southern California Golf Association) although over time the focus of WSCGA was directed toward women's groups at private golf clubs. In 2008 SJHWGA opted to change affiliations and is now part of San Diego County Women's Golf Association and again, San Juan's members participate actively in the larger organization in team play, association play days, away trips, course rating and as members of the Board of Directors.

Many veteran members of San Juan Hills have fond memories and tales to tell of earlier years. Liz Shattuck, Club President in 1973 and 1974, is credited with suggesting the roadrunner as the official symbol of the ladies club. Tomi Gettel, Club President in 2002 and 2003 initiated the tradition of a Past President's Luncheon which is now held each year to honor the club's leaders. Linda Healion, Club President in 2008 and 2009, helped to initiate the Hills Creek Cup, a 3 round challenge with the ladies club at Tijeras Creek Golf Course. Dottie La Fever and Binkie Valentine, Club President in 1994, were responsible for coordinating twice yearly "away trips" which were rollicking adventures both on and off the course. The San Juan Hills Women's Golf Association even has intergenerational members as current member and 2010 Club Champion, Corkie Birdsall, is the daughter of the late Adele Hanson, a once active member of SJHWGA.

.....and SJHWGA history and new memories are in the making.